I’m a Shallow Believer

shallow_believer

 

Ok so I don’t know where I was or what I was doing when Shallow Believer came out…but I missed it, and now I have to make up for it. Thus, The Used is on repeat on my iTunes as of now. The short, 10-song LP seems like a broad side-step for screamo, indie-rockers, The Used, especially after becoming quite familiar with their subsequent release, Lies For The Liars. Shallow Believer is way heavier than Lies, less of a melodic accomplishment, and unfortunately, is over before you realize you’re half-way through. Overall the album feels a little rushed, and semi-out of character for Burt and buddies, but hardcore fans should be pleased with most of the tracks on the record. Standouts include “Devil Beside Me” and “Sick Hearts” but the record lacks a front-runner unlike the “Taste of Ink”‘s and “All I’ve Got”‘s of former Used days.
If you’re a fan of The Used, but don’t have this one already go get yourself a copy…but don’t expect it to outshine Lies for the Liars.

One thought on “I’m a Shallow Believer

  1. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Regardless, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

Leave a Reply

